cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Mario Dalpra

born 1960, Feldkirch
Mario Dalpra studied under Arnulf Rainer at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. He began exhibiting his works in the 1980s and they have since been displayed as part of numerous exhibitions and events, as well as in collections such as the Liaunig Museum, the Angerlehner Museum, the Lentos Museum in Linz, and others. In 2014, one of his sculptures graced the official poster for the Vienna Opera Ball.

Following further exhibitions in 2015 in the Albemarle Gallery in London, in Vienna and in St Pölten, Dalpra created four large sculptures for the headquarters of Croma in Klosterneuburg. In 2016 he staged a live performance event in Vienna in collaboration with Austrian fashion designer Jürgen Christian Hörl. Since 2018, three of Dalpra’s sculptures have been displayed on the deck of the Harmony of the Seas, which was the largest cruise ship in the world at the time of its construction.
Mario Dalpra has been producing a multifaceted body of work since the 1980s. His creative practice is currently focused primarily on sculpture, particularly highly polished coloristic bronzes with a stylish finish. The intense colour palette and range of shapes found in Far Eastern cultures are a major influence on his work, and of particular personal interest since he spent a period of time in India.

With his work, Dalpra hopes to grant the viewer a “pure” artistic experience, detached from and free of interpretations – even those founded in the science of art. He is interested in the aesthetic of surfaces, which he is constantly reshaping and which reflect biographical influences as well as impressions from his travels.

Gesticulating Muse

The Sensual

Dressed Figure

Bronze, silver patinated
signed, 2019, unique specimen
40 x 30 x 20 cm
Bronze, lacquered
signed, 2020, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 25 cm
Lacquered bronze
signed, 2020, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 25 cm

The Shining

Inner Feeling

The Insider

Special lacquered bronze
signed, 2021, unique specimen
45 x 33 x 20 cm
Lacquered bronze
signed, 2020, unique specimen
40 x 20 x 15 cm
Lacquered bronze, hand-painted
signed, 2019, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 15 cm

The Healer

Bronze patinated
signed, 2017, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 15 cm

Gesticulating Muse

Bronze, silver patinated
signed, 2019, unique specimen
40 x 30 x 20 cm

The Sensual

Bronze, lacquered
signed, 2020, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 25 cm

Dressed Figure

Lacquered bronze
signed, 2020, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 25 cm

The Shining

Special lacquered bronze
signed, 2021, unique specimen
45 x 33 x 20 cm

Inner Feeling

Lacquered bronze
signed, 2020, unique specimen
40 x 20 x 15 cm

The Insider

Lacquered bronze, hand-painted
signed, 2019, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 15 cm

The Healer

Bronze patinated
signed, 2017, unique specimen
40 x 35 x 15 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Mario Dalpra

geboren 1960, Feldkirch
Mario Dalpra studierte bei Arnulf Rainer an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien. Seine Werke wurden seit den Achtzigerjahren in zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Aktionen gezeigt und sind in Sammlungen wie im Museum Liaunig, dem Museum Angerlehner, dem Museum Lentos in Linz und anderen vertreten. 2014 zierte eine seiner Skulpturen das offizielle Poster des Wiener Opernballs.

Nach weiteren Ausstellungen im Jahr 2015 im Albemarle in London, Wien sowie St. Pölten stellte Dalpra 2016 vier große Skulpturen für die Headquarters von Croma in Klosterneuburg fertig. 2016 veranstaltete Dalpra in Kollaboration mit dem österreichischen Modedesigner Jürgen Christian Hörl ein Live-Performance-Event in Wien. Seit 2018 sind drei Skulpturen Dalpras auf dem Deck der Harmony of the Seas, des bei seiner Fertigstellung größten Kreuzfahrtschiffes der Welt, ausgestellt.
Mario Dalpra hat seit den 1980er Jahren ein vielschichtiges Werk entfaltet. Sein aktuelles Schaffen ist primär auf Skulpturen ausgerichtet und umfasst vor allem hochpolierte koloristische Bronzen im stylischen Finish. Es ist die authentische und seit seinem Indienaufenthalt auch sehr persönliche Erfahrung mit der intensiven Farbenlust und Formenvielfalt fernöstlicher Kulturen, die sein künstlerisches Gestalten prägt.

Dalpra möchte mit seinen Arbeiten dem Betrachter ein „reines“ Kunsterlebnis bieten, losgelöst und frei auch von kunstwissenschaftlichen Interpretationen. Er beschäftigt sich mit der Ästhetik von Oberflächen, die er immer wieder neu gestaltet und in denen sich biografische Erlebnisse ebenso widerspiegeln wie Eindrücke seiner zahlreichen Reisen.

Gestikulierende Muse

Die Sinnliche

Der Heiler

Bronze, Silber patiniert
signiert, 2019, Unikat
40 x 30 x 20 cm
Bronze lackiert
signiert, 2020, Unikat
40 x 35 x 25 cm
Bronze patiniert
signiert, 2017, Unikat
40 x 35 x 15 cm

The Insider

Bronze lackiert, handbemalt
signiert, 2019, Unikat
40 x 35 x 15 cm

Gestikulierende Muse

Bronze, Silber patiniert
signiert, 2019, Unikat
40 x 30 x 20 cm

Die Sinnliche

Bronze lackiert
signiert, 2020, Unikat
40 x 35 x 25 cm

Der Heiler

Bronze patiniert
signiert, 2017, Unikat
40 x 35 x 15 cm

The Insider

Bronze lackiert, handbemalt
signiert, 2019, Unikat
40 x 35 x 15 cm