cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Josef Bramer

born 1948, Vienna
Displaying a masterful command of artistic techniques, Josef Bramer’s paintings and watercolours are a wonder to behold. As simple and clear as they might appear at first glance, these paintings are highly complex in substance, offering many different possibilities for interpretation. When it comes to theme, atmosphere, paint application and composition, however, Bramer’s works are unmistakeable. Josef Bramer established a solid foundation for his development as an artist by studying first at the Higher Graphical Federal Education and Research Institute, and then at the Academy of Fine Arts. As a young artist, he was fascinated by the artistic techniques used by the Old Masters, and during his student years he spent many days at the Kunsthistorisches Museum and Upper Belvedere, studying the secrets of their paintings. He put what he learned into practice on the canvas, developing his own technique of glazing on smooth matte surfaces. When he graduated, Bramer initially remained in Rudolf Hausner’s masterclass as his assistant, but devoted himself fully to his own painting upon the professor’s retirement.
For Josef Bramer, everything begins with an idea: colour composition, painting structure. Only then does he add specific objects or figures to create a rhythmically coherent whole. “You can awaken the universal from the personal,” he says, adding: “For me, a painting is good when I have the feeling I’ve painted something from my soul and can convey a message.” Nonetheless, Bramer isn’t a photorealist; instead, his paintings live from disassociation. Objects are distorted and altered, condensed into a personal language of symbols. Abstract two-dimensional elements are deliberately contrasted with vivid details. The essence of his art, then, is far from simple perception. Instead, Bramer presents “deeper realities”, in which stylised landscapes and family portraits are important themes. In his paintings, we often encounter the figure of Kaspar, who has become an alter ego for the artist. Kaspar embodies the wonder with which – according to Plato – philosophy begins, and also combines unconventional points of view with the worldly-wise insights of intellectual maturity.

Josef Bramer’s decision to paint in a realist style was born of the conviction that his work should serve not so much as a “measure of the world” (Daniel Kehlmann) as a contribution to its improvement. His single-minded pursuit of this path over many years has seen him recognized with countless awards, acquisitions and exhibitions. In an art history sense, it is impossible to assign Josef Bramer to a particular movement; instead, the hallmark of his work is unmistakeable timelessness. Nonetheless, just like Arnulf Rainer, Joseph Beuys or Andy Warhol, his artistic creations are deeply rooted in the present. At the same time, his visual language comprises other facets, a different kind of poetry. For him, the process of working is also an important part of the statements his works make: if he spends days and weeks working on a painting, adding hundreds of thousands of fine brushstrokes, the patience and stamina involved can be seen as a criticism of our hectic way of life. Josef Bramer is a conscious painter, who thinks carefully about his work and doesn’t employ his talent casually. In his paintings, “beauty is never just a smooth surface or elegant appearance, but something that comes from deep within, of nameable substance and values.” (Angelica Bäumer)

Remembrance of Childhood

Southern Landscape with Olive Tree

Rast

Oil on canvas
monogrammed, inscribed and dated (20)17
70 x 70 cm (with object framing 100 x 100 cm)
Oil on canvas
monogrammed and dated (20)21
100 x 100 cm
Watercolor and tempera on cardboard
monogrammed, inscribed and dated (20)22
31,8 x 31,8 cm

Four Seasons

Watercolor on cardboard
monogrammed, verso inscribed and dated (20)22
31,8 x 31,8 cm

Remembrance of Childhood

Oil on canvas
monogrammed, inscribed and dated (20)17
70 x 70 cm (with object framing 100 x 100 cm)

Southern Landscape with Olive Tree

Oil on canvas
monogrammed and dated (20)21
100 x 100 cm

Rast

Watercolor and tempera on cardboard
monogrammed, inscribed and dated (20)22
31,8 x 31,8 cm

Four Seasons

Watercolor on cardboard
monogrammed, verso inscribed and dated (20)22
31,8 x 31,8 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Josef Bramer

geboren 1948, Wien
Josef Bramers Gemälde und Aquarelle rufen durch die meisterliche Beherrschung der malerischen Mittel Bewunderung im Betrachter hervor. So einfach und klar die Bilder auf den ersten Blick wirken mögen, so komplex sind ihre Inhalte, so vielseitig ihre Deutungsmöglichkeiten. Immer aber sind Bramers Werke unverwechselbar hinsichtlich Thematik, Kolorit, Farbauftrag und Komposition. Mit seiner Ausbildung an der Grafischen Lehr- und Versuchsanstalt und an der Akademie der bildenden Künste legte Josef Bramer ein solides Fundament für seine weitere Entwicklung. Der junge Künstler war fasziniert von der malerischen Qualität Alter Meister und verbrachte während seiner Studienjahre viele Tage im Kunsthistorischen Museum und im Oberen Belvedere. Hier ging er deren maltechnischen Geheimnissen auf den Grund und entwickelte aus den gewonnenen Erkenntnissen seine eigene Lasurtechnik auf Leinwand mit seidig-matter Oberfläche. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums verblieb Bramer zunächst als Assistent in der Meisterklasse von Rudolf Hausner. Dessen Emeritierung nahm er jedoch zum Anlass, sich nunmehr ganz seiner Malerei zu widmen.
Bei Josef Bramer beginnt alles mit einer Idee: der Farbkomposition, dem Bildaufbau – erst dann werden konkrete Gegenstände und Figuren zu einem rhythmisch stimmigen Ganzen gefügt. „Aus dem Persönlichen erwächst das Allgemeine“, meint der Maler dazu und ergänzt: „Bei mir sind Bilder dann gut, wenn ich das Gefühl habe, dass ich mir etwas von der Seele gemalt habe und dass ich eine Botschaft vermitteln kann.“ Dennoch ist Bramer kein Fotorealist, seine Gemälde leben vielmehr von Verfremdungen. Objekte werden verformt und geändert, zu einer persönlichen Symbolsprache kondensiert. Abstrakt-flächige und plastisch bis ins Detail gestaltete Elemente werden dabei bewusst kontrastiert. Das Wesen seiner Kunst ist also keineswegs schlichte Anschauung. Bramer stellt vielmehr „tiefere Wirklichkeiten“ dar, in denen ihm sowohl stilisierte Landschaften als auch das Familienbild wichtige Anliegen sind. Oft begegnet uns in den Bildern die für den Maler zum „Alter Ego“ gewordene Figur des Kaspar. Kaspar verkörpert das Staunen, mit dem nach Platon alle Erkenntnis beginnt, und verbindet darüber hinaus unkonventionelle Sichtweisen mit den lebensklugen Einsichten geistiger Reife.

Seinen Entschluss, realistisch zu malen, fasste Josef Bramer aus der Überzeugung, mit seinen Darstellungen nicht so sehr zur „Vermessung der Welt“ (Daniel Kehlmann), als vielmehr zu deren Verbesserung beitragen zu können. So geht der Künstler seit vielen Jahren unbeirrbar seinen Weg, und unzählige Ehrungen, Ankäufe und Museumsausstellungen würdigen diesen. Kunsthistorisch ist Josef Bramer keinen Strömungen zuzuordnen, sondern vielmehr von unverwechselbarer Zeitlosigkeit. Doch kommt es ihm in seinen Bildschöpfungen – wie Arnulf Rainer, Joseph Beuys oder Andy Warhol – sehr wohl auf den Gegenwartsbezug an. Allerdings hat seine Bildsprache andere Facetten, eine andere Poesie. Der Arbeitsprozess ist für ihn ein wichtiger Teil der Aussage seiner Bilder. Denn wenn er tage- und wochenlang an einem Werk arbeitet und hunderttausende feinste Pinselstriche malt, dann sind Geduld und Ausdauer auch als Kritik an unserer so hektisch gewordenen Zeit zu verstehen. Josef Bramer ist ein bewusster Maler, der sich Gedanken macht und nicht leichtfertig mit seiner Begabung umgeht. In seinen Werken ist „Schönheit nie nur glatte Oberfläche und elegante Erscheinung, sondern beginnt tief innen und hat benennbare Werte und Inhalte.“ (Angelica Bäumer)

Erinnerung an die Kindheit

Südliche Landschaft mit Olivenbaum

Vier Jahreszeiten

Öl auf Leinwand
monogrammiert, bezeichnet und datiert (20)17
70 x 70 cm (mit Objektrahmung 100 x 100 cm)
Öl auf Leinwand
monogrammiert, datiert (20)21
100 x 100 cm
Aquarell auf Karton
monogrammiert, datiert (20)22 und verso bezeichnet
31,8 x 31,8 cm

Erinnerung an die Kindheit

Öl auf Leinwand
monogrammiert, bezeichnet und datiert (20)17
70 x 70 cm (mit Objektrahmung 100 x 100 cm)

Südliche Landschaft mit Olivenbaum

Öl auf Leinwand
monogrammiert, datiert (20)21
100 x 100 cm

Vier Jahreszeiten

Aquarell auf Karton
monogrammiert, datiert (20)22 und verso bezeichnet
31,8 x 31,8 cm

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und seien Sie immer informiert über unser neuestes Galerieprogramm.