cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Heribert Mader

Steyr 1937 – 2022 Vienna
For Heribert Mader, the city is the starting point and focus of his creative practice. He has now spent five decades circling this topic in his oil paintings and watercolours. With each work of art, he opens up new perspectives on cities such as Venice, New York and London, each time taking the pulse of his chosen metropolis.

Cities are expressions of our culture, our civilization. They are habitats for humans, built by humans. With dynamic brushstrokes, Mader reveals the essence of our urban spaces, capturing their rhythms and structures. Architecture and light take centre stage as the main protagonists in his oeuvre. The allure of Mader’s visual world lies in the tension between his depiction of what is visible and the power of his artistic imagination, which allows his paintings to take on a kind of independence. But even if Mader pushes his colour paintings to the verges of abstract, letting detail play only a minor role, he never calls objectivity into question. Silhouettes and light–dark contrasts are particularly important in anchoring the gaze and making associations.

In Venice, Mader finds the ideal scenery for his concept of painting. With extraordinary sensitivity, these works portray the light in a city where the interplay of water, architecture and atmosphere creates a unique situation. For Mader, the paintings of William Turner are one of his key points of reference; after all, it was Turner who first transcended the reality of La Serenissima and bathed its canals and walls in dramatic light. Like Turner, Mader doesn’t see Venice as merely picturesque, instead finding the light-saturated water and shimmering haziness of the city. Mader’s paintings make him a “legitimate successor to the great painters who immortalized Venice in the collective memory of humanity: as mood and emotion, as memory and hope, as a spiritual experience.” (Klaus Albrecht Schröder)

Alongside Venice, New York is a central star in Heribert Mader’s artistic cosmos. He believes that “Manhattan itself is a work of art”, and on each visit tries tirelessly to commit an overwhelming number of impressions to memory or capture them on camera. In his paintings, the deep chasms of the streets lead in perspective into light-flooded backgrounds. A virtuoso creator of scenes, he uses rhythmic structures to enhance the charisma of gigantic facades.

Each city has many different faces. Venice and New York, Vienna, London and Paris – in their diversity, all these metropolises are eye-catching locations for Mader’s artistic research. In his personal homage to each city we can see them as organisms, as artistic sources of friction, as places of inspiration. They also offer aesthetic insights: while his oil paintings capture the imagination with their suggestive constructions of perspective and pastose surfaces, his watercolours are enthralling in the delicate transparency of their colours.

As well as numerous exhibitions and awards, Heribert Mader’s success is clearly shown by the many acquisitions of his work for private and public collections. Today, his works are on display in galleries such as the Albertina, the Leopold Museum in Vienna, the Artothek in Vienna, the state museums of Upper and Lower Austria, the Angerlehner Museum, the Municipal Museum in Bruneck/Brunico, and the Salzburg Museum.

Venice - Rio della Misericordia

Venice - Santa Maria della Salute

New York – Manhattan

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2016
WVZ 8203, 100 x 140 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann
Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2017
WVZ 8216, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann
Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2017
WVZ 8209, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York - Manhattan

New York – Times Square

London

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2017
WVZ 8213, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann
Watercolour on paper
signed and dated (20)01
WVZ-Nr. 6204, 45 x 32 cm
Watercolour on paper
signed and dated 2013
WVZ-Nr. 7070, 32 x 45 cm

Venice – Piazzetta

New York - Manhattan

Venice – Piazzetta

Watercolour on paper
signed and dated (20)16
WVZ-Nr. 7169, 32 x 45 cm
Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2015
WVZ-Nr. 8171, 120 x 80 cm
Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2016
WVZ 8196, 100 x 140 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

At Lake Attersee

New York - Manhattan

Watercolour on paper
signed and dated (20)14
WVZ-Nr. 7114, 32 x 45 cm
Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2015
WVZ 8169, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

Venice - Rio della Misericordia

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2016
WVZ 8203, 100 x 140 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

Venice - Santa Maria della Salute

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2017
WVZ 8216, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York – Manhattan

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2017
WVZ 8209, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York - Manhattan

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2017
WVZ 8213, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York – Times Square

Watercolour on paper
signed and dated (20)01
WVZ-Nr. 6204, 45 x 32 cm

London

Watercolour on paper
signed and dated 2013
WVZ-Nr. 7070, 32 x 45 cm

Venice – Piazzetta

Watercolour on paper
signed and dated (20)16
WVZ-Nr. 7169, 32 x 45 cm

New York - Manhattan

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2015
WVZ-Nr. 8171, 120 x 80 cm

Venice – Piazzetta

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2016
WVZ 8196, 100 x 140 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

At Lake Attersee

Watercolour on paper
signed and dated (20)14
WVZ-Nr. 7114, 32 x 45 cm

New York - Manhattan

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2015
WVZ 8169, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Heribert Mader

Steyr 1937 – 2022 Wien
Für Heribert Mader sind Städte Ausgangspunkt und Zentrum seines künstlerischen Schaffens. Seit nunmehr fünf Jahrzehnten umkreist er dieses Thema in seinen Ölgemälden und Aquarellen. Dabei erobert der Künstler mit jedem Werk neue Blickwinkel von Venedig, New York oder London und erspürt dabei den Puls der jeweiligen Metropole.

Städte sind Ausdruck unserer Kultur, unserer Zivilisation. Sie sind Lebensräume von Menschen und für Menschen gebaut. Mit dynamischen Pinselstrichen legt Mader die Essenz urbaner Räume frei, fängt ihren Rhythmus und ihre Struktur ein. Architektur und Licht treten dabei als Hauptakteure in seinem Œuvre auf.

Der Reiz seiner Bildwelt liegt im Spannungsfeld zwischen der Beschreibung des Sichtbaren und der künstlerischen Imaginationskraft, welche die Farbe zu voller Selbständigkeit befreit. Doch auch wenn Mader seine Farbmalerei bis an die Grenzen der Abstraktion führt und Details nur eine untergeordnete Rolle spielen, stellt er die Gegenständlichkeit nie in Frage. Vor allem Hell-Dunkel-Kontraste und Silhouetten sind es, die dem Auge Halt geben und Assoziationen schaffen.
In seinen Venedig-Bildern findet der Künstler das ideale Motiv für seine Auffassung der Malerei. Sie beschreiben auf äußerst sensible Weise die Lichträume dieser Stadt, in der das Zusammenspiel von Wasser, Architektur und Atmosphäre eine einmalige Situation hervorbringt. Für Mader stellen hier die Gemälde William Turners einen der wichtigsten Bezugspunkte dar, hat doch Turner erstmals die Realität der Serenissima transzendiert und ihre Mauern und Kanäle in dramatische Ereignisse des Lichts umgegossen. Wie Turner sieht auch Mader in Venedig nicht das pittoreske Motiv, sondern das vom Licht getränkte Wasser und die flirrende Unschärfe der Stadt. Seine Gemälde machen Mader zum „legitimen Nachfahren der großen Maler, die Venedig im kollektiven Gedächtnis der Menschheit verewigt haben: Und zwar als Stimmung und Empfindung, als Erinnerung und Hoffnung, als Erfahrung des Geistes.“ (Klaus Albrecht Schröder)

New York ist neben Venedig ein Zentralgestirn im malerischen Kosmos Heribert Maders. „Manhattan an sich ist ein Kunstwerk“, ist der Künstler überzeugt und versucht bei seinen Besuchen unermüdlich die überwältigenden Eindrücke in seinen Erinnerungen zu speichern oder diese mit der Kamera festzuhalten. In seinen Gemälden führen die tiefen Schluchten der Straßenzüge perspektivisch in lichtdurchflutete Hintergründe. Virtuos gestaltet er Bildflächen und erhöht mittels rhythmischer Strukturen die Strahlkraft gigantischer Hausfassaden.

Jede Stadt hat unterschiedliche Gesichter. Venedig und New York, Wien, London und Paris – all diese Metropolen sind in ihrer Vielfalt prägnante Schauplätze von Maders künstlerischen Bildrecherchen. Sie sind als persönliche Hommagen Heribert Maders an die jeweilige Stadt als Organismus, als künstlerische Reibungsfläche und Inspirationsquelle zu verstehen. Darüber hinaus sind sie Bekenntnisse zur Ästhetik: Während die Ölgemälde durch suggestive Perspektivkonstruktionen und pastose Oberflächen begeistern, ist es bei den Aquarellen die zarte Transparenz des Kolorits, die den Betrachter in ihren Bann zieht.

Neben zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Ehrungen lässt sich Heribert Maders Erfolg an den vielen Ankäufen seiner Gemälde seitens privater und institutioneller Sammlungen ablesen. Heute befinden sich seine Arbeiten u.a. in der Albertina, im Wiener Leopold Museum, der Artothek Wien, dem NÖ sowie dem OÖ Landesmuseum, dem Museum Angerlehner, dem Stadtmuseum Bruneck und dem Salzburg Museum.

Venedig - Rio della Misericordia

Venedig – Santa Maria della Salute

New York – Manhattan

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2016
WVZ 8203, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann
Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2017
WVZ 8216, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann
Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2017
WVZ 8209, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York - Manhattan

New York – Times Square

London

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2017
WVZ 8213, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann
Aquarell auf Papier
signiert und datiert (20)05
WVZ-Nr. 6007, 45 x 32 cm
Aquarell auf Papier
signiert und datiert 2013
WVZ-Nr. 7070, 32 x 45 cm

Am Attersee

New York - Manhattan

Venedig – Piazzetta

Aquarell auf Papier
signiert und datiert (20)14
WVZ-Nr. 7114, 32 x 45 cm
Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2015
WVZ 8169, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann
Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2016
WVZ 8196, 100 x 140 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

Venedig - Rio della Misericordia

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2016
WVZ 8203, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

Venedig – Santa Maria della Salute

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2017
WVZ 8216, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York – Manhattan

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2017
WVZ 8209, 100 x 100 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York - Manhattan

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2017
WVZ 8213, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

New York – Times Square

Aquarell auf Papier
signiert und datiert (20)05
WVZ-Nr. 6007, 45 x 32 cm

London

Aquarell auf Papier
signiert und datiert 2013
WVZ-Nr. 7070, 32 x 45 cm

Am Attersee

Aquarell auf Papier
signiert und datiert (20)14
WVZ-Nr. 7114, 32 x 45 cm

New York - Manhattan

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2015
WVZ 8169, 120 x 80 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

Venedig – Piazzetta

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2016
WVZ 8196, 100 x 140 cm
Foto: © Atelier Neumann

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und seien Sie immer informiert über unser neuestes Galerieprogramm.