cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Hans Staudacher

St. Urban 1923 – 2021 Vienna
Hans Staudacher was born in 1923 in St. Urban am Ossiacher See. An autodidact, he began drawing and painting at a very young age. In 1950 he moved to Vienna, where he quickly found his feet in the small but active art scene. He joined the Vienna Secession and took part in its exhibitions. His early black-and-grey, small-format works were soon replaced by larger, colourful paintings in which the individual symbolic language of Art Informel is already evident. In 1951 he created his first synthetic resin pictures in the Tachisme style. In the 1950s and early 1960s, Staudacher travelled several times to Paris, where he engaged intensively with lettrism – the relationship between pictures and words – and the work of George Mathieu. From then on, these influences would inform his entire oeuvre.

Staudacher worked with different techniques in painting, graphic arts, collage and print. Abstract, extremely musical paintings, in which spontaneous gestures play a central role, are typical of his work. He incorporates calligraphic characters, symbols and notes, but also paper and cardboard, in collage style.

“Art is not business, but freedom of the soul, freedom of space, freedom of the mind – and it is very important that we retain this,” said Hans Staudacher, whose leitmotif was generosity, in both his personal and professional life.
Hans Staudacher is now regarded as one of the most significant Austrian representatives of action painting. Lyrical Art Informel combines with abstract Expressionism in his oeuvre to create a unique, very personal style that is unparalleled in Austria.

All aspects of a painter’s career that could be taken as proof of importance and exclusivity can be found abundantly in the work of Hans Staudacher: he was a member of the Vienna Secession, the Stadtpark Forum in Graz and the Carinthian Society of Artists. He began exhibiting significant works as early as 1953 at the New Gallery in Graz’s Joanneum State Museum, and in 1956 at the Vienna Secession and the Stendelijk Museum in Amsterdam. In the same year, Staudacher also represented Austria with eight paintings at the 28th Venice Biennale.

Many exhibitions followed, from the 1950s to the turn of the millennium, in cities including Munich, Paris, Cologne, Maastricht, Boston, New York and São Paulo. In 1965 Staudacher was awarded the main prize at the Tokyo Biennale and in 1976 was made a professor. His works are displayed in renowned museums across the world and are well documented in numerous monographs and catalogues.

Hover

Summer in Millstatt

Encounter in St. Stefan

Oil on canvas
signed and verso dated (19)89
150 x 150 cm
Oil on canvas
signed and dated 1982
100 x 80 cm
Watercolour on paper
signed, inscribed and dated 1999 
42,8 x 60,7 cm

Painting Emotional

It's really all for the cat - mi - au

Inner Landscape

Oil on panel
signed and dated (19)86
verso signed, inscribed and dated
130 x 170 cm
Oil on canvas
signed, inscribed and dated 1991
150 x 150 cm 
Oil on panel
signed and dated 1972
85 x 130 cm

Direction South

Symphony of Love

The Wind Has Painted Along

Oil on canvas
signed and verso dated 11987
150 x 150 cm
Oil on canvas
signed and dated 2004
150 x 150 cm
Watercolour and ink on paper
signed and dated 2000
61 x 43 cm

Flying

Color Fence

Oil on canvas
signed and verso dated (19)88
70,3 x 100 cm
Watercolour and ink on paper
signed, inscribed and dated 2011
58,5 x 41,5 cm

Hover

Oil on canvas
signed and verso dated (19)89
150 x 150 cm

Summer in Millstatt

Oil on canvas
signed and dated 1982
100 x 80 cm

Encounter in St. Stefan

Watercolour on paper
signed, inscribed and dated 1999 
42,8 x 60,7 cm

Painting Emotional

Oil on panel
signed and dated (19)86
verso signed, inscribed and dated
130 x 170 cm

It's really all for the cat - mi - au

Oil on canvas
signed, inscribed and dated 1991
150 x 150 cm 

Inner Landscape

Oil on panel
signed and dated 1972
85 x 130 cm

Direction South

Oil on canvas
signed and verso dated 11987
150 x 150 cm

Symphony of Love

Oil on canvas
signed and dated 2004
150 x 150 cm

The Wind Has Painted Along

Watercolour and ink on paper
signed and dated 2000
61 x 43 cm

Flying

Oil on canvas
signed and verso dated (19)88
70,3 x 100 cm

Color Fence

Watercolour and ink on paper
signed, inscribed and dated 2011
58,5 x 41,5 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Hans Staudacher

St. Urban 1923 – 2021 Wien
Hans Staudacher wurde 1923 in St. Urban am Ossiacher See geboren und begann sehr früh als Autodidakt zu zeichnen und zu malen. 1950 übersiedelte er nach Wien, wo er rasch Anschluss an die kleine, aber aktive Kunstszene fand. Er trat der Wiener Secession bei und nahm an deren Ausstellungen teil. Frühe grau-schwarze kleinformatige Arbeiten wurden bald von größeren farbigen Gemälden abgelöst, in denen die individuelle Zeichensprache des Informel bereits erkennbar ist. 1951 entstanden erste tachistische Kunstharzbilder. Staudacher ging in den 1950er und frühen 1960er Jahren immer wieder nach Paris, wo er sich intensiv mit dem Werk von George Mathieu und dem Lettrismus, der Verbindung von Bild und Schrift, auseinandersetzte. Diese Einflüsse prägten fortan sein gesamtes Schaffen.

Staudacher arbeitete in Techniken der Malerei, Grafik, Collage und Druckgrafik. Typisch für ihn ist eine abstrakte, ausgesprochen musikalische Malerei, in der die spontane Geste zentrales Thema ist. Kalligraphische Schriftzeichen, Symbole, Notizen, aber auch Kartons und Papiere bindet er collagenartig ein.

„Kunst ist nicht Geschäft, sondern Freiheit der Seele, Freiheit des Raumes, Freiheit des Geistes – und es ist sehr wichtig, dass wir uns das erhalten“, so ein Zitat von Hans Staudacher, dessen Leitmotiv sowohl als Person als auch als Maler die Großzügigkeit war.
Hans Staudacher gilt heute als bedeutender österreichischer Vertreter der gestischen Malerei. In seinem Œuvre verbindet sich das lyrische Informel mit dem abstrakten Expressionismus zu einer einzigartigen, sehr persönlichen Handschrift, die in Österreich keine Parallelen besitzt.

All das, was als Nachweis für Bedeutung und Exklusivität eines Malers herangezogen werden kann, ist bei Staudacher in überreichem Maße vorhanden: Er war Mitglied der Wiener Secession, des Forums Stadtpark in Graz und des Kunstvereins für Kärnten. Wichtige Arbeiten zeigte er bereits 1953 in der Neuen Galerie am Landesmuseum Joanneum in Graz, 1956 in der Wiener Secession sowie im Stendeljik Museum in Amsterdam. Im selben Jahr vertrat Staudacher Österreich außerdem mit acht Bildern auf der 28. Biennale in Venedig.

Von den 1950er Jahren bis zur Jahrtausendwende folgten Ausstellungen u. a. in München, Paris, Köln, London, Maastricht, Boston, New York und São Paulo. 1965 wurde der Künstler anlässlich der Biennale in Tokio mit dem Hauptpreis ausgezeichnet und 1976 mit der Verleihung des Titels „Professor“ geehrt. Seine Werke sind weltweit in wichtigen Museen präsent und durch zahlreiche Monografien und Kataloge gut dokumentiert.

Figur

Sommer in Millstatt

Begegnung in St. Stefan

Mischtechnik auf Papier
signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 1962
61 x 43 cm
Öl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 1982
Aquarell auf Papier
signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 1999 
42,8 x 60,7 cm

Malerei Emotional

Es ist wirklich alles für die Katz - mi - au

Innere Landschaft

Öl auf Platte
signiert und datiert (19)86
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert
130 x 170 cm
Öl auf Leinwand
signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 1991
150 x 150 cm 
Öl auf Platte
signiert und datiert 1972
85 x 130 cm

Richtung Süden

Liebes-Symphonie

Der Wind hat mitgemalt

Öl auf Leinwand
signiert und verso datiert 1987
150 x 150 cm
Öl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 2004
150 x 150 cm
Aquarell und Tusche auf Papier
signiert und datiert 2000
61 x 43 cm

Garten Poesie

Richtungswechsel

Aquarell und Tusche auf Papier
signiert und datiert 2008
43 x 61 cm
Mischtechnik auf Papier
signiert und datiert 1989
70 x 50 cm

Figur

Mischtechnik auf Papier
signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 1962
61 x 43 cm

Sommer in Millstatt

Öl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 1982

Begegnung in St. Stefan

Aquarell auf Papier
signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 1999 
42,8 x 60,7 cm

Malerei Emotional

Öl auf Platte
signiert und datiert (19)86
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert
130 x 170 cm

Es ist wirklich alles für die Katz - mi - au

Öl auf Leinwand
signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 1991
150 x 150 cm 

Innere Landschaft

Öl auf Platte
signiert und datiert 1972
85 x 130 cm

Richtung Süden

Öl auf Leinwand
signiert und verso datiert 1987
150 x 150 cm

Liebes-Symphonie

Öl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 2004
150 x 150 cm

Der Wind hat mitgemalt

Aquarell und Tusche auf Papier
signiert und datiert 2000
61 x 43 cm

Garten Poesie

Aquarell und Tusche auf Papier
signiert und datiert 2008
43 x 61 cm

Richtungswechsel

Mischtechnik auf Papier
signiert und datiert 1989
70 x 50 cm

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und seien Sie immer informiert über unser neuestes Galerieprogramm.