cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Franziska Maderthaner

born 1962, Vienna
Expressive layers, grand brushstrokes, rich ideas and an extraordinarily eye-catching style – these are the masterpieces created by Vienna-born artist Franziska Maderthaner. Treats for connoisseurs and collectors alike, and a powerful initiation for newcomers!

Whether they feature flamboyant tulips, delicate wooden structures or historical figures who have been taken out of their usual context and reimagined through the lens of contemporary themes, Franziska Maderthaner’s paintings are opulent. They weave together figurative art and abstract Expressionism in a dialogue between opposing forces. Paint spills wind themselves into bodies, blossoms, objects or even entire scenes that often oscillate between historical eras and the present day. With painterly virtuosity, she liberates her subjects from the past, drawing on art history in a statement that couldn’t be more self-confident.
As the counterpart to what she takes from art history, Maderthaner’s “Fluid Meta-Paintings” are inspired by experimental electronic music, particularly the work of Austrian musician Christina Nemec.

The rich effect of Maderthaner’s works arises from a conflict of opposites: illusion and projection, the figural and the abstract, borrowed material and new creations, past and present, baroque force and subtle colour palettes – the synthesis of opposing poles becomes a constant in this cycle, just as it is in her entire body of work.

Maderthaner’s works are further characterized by their subtle humour, which manifests in the ironic interplay of her paintings’ subjects and titles. Refreshingly, she doesn’t shy away from any taboos, resisting the political correctness of the intellectual mainstream.

Whenever Franziska Maderthaner references a historical painting tradition, she does so to ask questions of the present. There are many ways of interpreting her work, and we are challenged to bring our own life experiences to our understanding of it.

L´exercise

Lightning

Tulipmania 14

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
100 x 80 cm
Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
100 x 80 cm
Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2022
100 x 80 cm

Proserpina

Whistleblowing

What was the Question?

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2022
100 x 80 cm
Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
100 x 80 cm
Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2022
80 x 100 cm

L´exercise

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
100 x 80 cm

Lightning

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
100 x 80 cm

Tulipmania 14

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2022
100 x 80 cm

Proserpina

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2022
100 x 80 cm

Whistleblowing

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
100 x 80 cm

What was the Question?

Oil and mixed media on canvas
verso signed and dated 2022
80 x 100 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Franziska Maderthaner

geboren 1962, Wien
Expressiv geschüttet, grandios gemalt, überaus ideenreich und außergewöhnlich packend sind die Meisterwerke der Künstlerin Franziska Maderthaner – Delikates für Kunstgenießer und -sammler und kraftvolles Initiationserlebnis für Neueinsteiger gleichermaßen!

Ob farbenprächtigste Tulpen, delikate Holzstrukturen oder Protagonisten, die aus ihrem historischen Kontext gelöst und mit zeitgenössischen Themen neu in Beziehung gesetzt werden: Die Gemälde von Franziska Maderthaner sind opulent. Sie verweben Gegenständliches und abstrakt Expressionistisches zu einem Spiel gegensätzlicher Kräfte. Aus den Farbschüttungen entwinden sich Körper, Blüten, Objekte oder ganze Szenen, die oftmals zwischen historischen Epochen und dem Jetzt pendeln. Dabei werden Sujets mit malerischer Virtuosität aus der Vergangenheit befreit, ist das Abrufen der Kunstgeschichte ein Statement, das selbstbewusster nicht sein könnte.

Als Gegenpol zu den Zitaten aus der Malereigeschichte dient experimentelle elektronische Musik als Inspiration für Maderthaners „Fluide Metamalerei“, ganz besonders jene der österreichischen Musikerin Christina Nemec.
Der Reichtum an Bildwirkung entsteht also aus einem Wettstreit der Gegensätze: Illusionismus und Bildfläche, Gegenständlichkeit und Abstraktion, Zitat und Neuschöpfung, Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, barocke Wucht und feinsinnige Farbräume – die Synthese unterschiedlicher Pole stellt in diesem Zyklus wie im gesamten Schaffen der Künstlerin eine Konstante dar.

Darüber hinaus zeichnen sich Maderthaners Werke durch subtilen Humor aus, der sich im ironischen Spiel mit Bildthemen und -titeln manifestiert. Erfrischend ist, dass die Künstlerin in ihren Darstellungen vor keinem Tabu zurückschreckt und sich damit dem intellektuellen Mainstream der Political Correctness widersetzt.

Wann immer historische Bildtraditionen von Franziska Maderthaner abgerufen werden, geht es um Fragestellungen der Gegenwart, die darin zur Sprache kommen. Es gibt viele Lesearten, und wir sind aufgefordert, uns den Werken mit unserer Lebenserfahrung zu nähern.

Tulipmania 14

Blitz

L´exercise

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2022
100 x 80 cm
Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
100 x 80 cm
Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
100 x 80 cm

Proserpina

Whistleblowing

Was war die Frage?

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2022
100 x 80 cm
Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
100 x 80 cm
Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2022
80 x 100 cm

Tulipmania 14

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2022
100 x 80 cm

Blitz

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
100 x 80 cm

L´exercise

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
100 x 80 cm

Proserpina

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2022
100 x 80 cm

Whistleblowing

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
100 x 80 cm

Was war die Frage?

Öl und Mischtechnik auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2022
80 x 100 cm

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und seien Sie immer informiert über unser neuestes Galerieprogramm.