cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Eva Wagner

born 1967, Salzburg
From 1986 to 1993, Eva Wagner studied at the Academy of Fine Arts and the University of Applied Arts in Vienna, where her professors included Markus Prachensky and Arnulf Rainer. In 1992 she received a stipend to work in Italy, and in 1994 began teaching at the University of Applied Arts. Since 2003 she has also taught at the International Summer Academy of Fine Arts in Salzburg. In 2005 she was awarded the Anton Faistauer Prize, in 2008 she received the KAPSCH Art Prize, and in 2011 she was nominated for the Grand Salzburg Art Prize.

As a painter, Eva Wagner draws her inspiration from fleeting everyday moments, using them to create continually new and multifaceted pictorial compositions. Her travels abroad, for example to Marrakech, Dakar, Mumbai and Goa, have also come to play an important role in providing inspiration. Wagner is interested in the impressions left by places beyond the tourist trail and usual sightseeing routes. In her paintings, photographic sketches – such as snapshots taken from a car – become moments in which to pause and reflect. She develops her paintings layer by layer, overpainting and concealing, connecting abstract and concrete elements.
Wagner’s works are reminiscent of a painter’s intimate aide memoires; images surface from her memory as though emerging from the dark, always on the verge of disappearing again, captured only in her paintings. Landscapes occasionally make an appearance, though they always remain open-ended, lacking any specific geographical localization. The concrete elements of her work are superimposed with traces of paint that has run and geometric lines or areas; they deconstruct and reshape the scenes she portrays, while delicate transparent layers have the effect of drawing a veil of stillness across the image. Movement and stillness, dynamism and stagnation are in perfect equilibrium.

In The Reeds

Plants

From the series "Indian White

Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
140 x 120 cm
Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed and dated 2020/21
120 x 100 cm
Gouache on paper
verso signed and dated 2020
29,5 x 20,8 cm

From the series "Meadow Pieces"

From the series „Floral“

From the series „Floral“

Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed and dated 2019
150 x 110 cm
Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
120 x 100 cm
Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
90 x 80 cm

In The Reeds

Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed and dated 2021
140 x 120 cm

Plants

Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed and dated 2020/21
120 x 100 cm

From the series "Indian White

Gouache on paper
verso signed and dated 2020
29,5 x 20,8 cm

From the series "Meadow Pieces"

Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed and dated 2019
150 x 110 cm

From the series „Floral“

Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
120 x 100 cm

From the series „Floral“

Acrylic / gouache on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
90 x 80 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Eva Wagner

geboren 1967, Salzburg
Von 1986 bis 1993 studierte Eva Wagner an der Akademie der bildenden Künste und an der Hochschule für angewandte Kunst in Wien (u.a. bei Markus Prachensky und Arnulf Rainer). 1992 erhielt sie ein Arbeitsstipendium für Italien, seit 1994 unterrichtet Wagner an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst, seit 2003 auch an der Internationalen Sommerakademie für Bildende Kunst in Salzburg. 2005 erhielt sie den Anton Faistauer Preis, 2008 wurde sie mit dem KAPSCH Kunstpreis ausgezeichnet, 2011 für den Großen Salzburger Kunstpreis nominiert.

Flüchtige Momente des Alltags dienen der Malerin Eva Wagner als Inspirationsquelle für immer neue, vielschichtige Bildkompositionen. Auch Reisen in ferne Länder bilden seit Jahren eine wichtige Inspirationsquelle. Diese führen die Künstlerin etwa nach Marrakesch, Dakar, Mumbai und Goa. Wagner interessiert sich für die Spuren und Eindrücke eines Ortes jenseits der touristischen Wege und Sehgewohnheiten. Fotografische Skizzen – wie z.B. Schnappschüsse aus einem Auto – verwandeln sich in ihrer Malerei in Momente eines reflektierten Innehaltens. Schicht um Schicht entwickelt sie ihre Bilder, sie übermalt und verdeckt, verbindet abstrakte und konkrete Partien.
Wagners Werke lassen an intime malerische Erinnerungsnotizen denken, wie aus dem Dunkeln tauchen Bilder aus ihrem Gedächtnis auf, jeden Moment können sie wieder entschwinden, nur ihre Malerei hält sie fest. Manchmal erscheinen Landschaften, doch diese bleiben in ihrer Darstellung offen und ohne genaue geografische Verortung. Geronnene Farbspuren sowie geometrisch gezogene Farblinien und -flächen überlagern die konkrete Partien, sie dekonstruieren die dargestellten Motive und setzen sie wieder neu zusammen, wobei sich die zarten transparenten Schichtungen wie ein Schleier der Ruhe über die Malerei legen. Bewegung und Ruhe, Dynamik und Stillstand halten sich im Gleichgewicht.

Im Schilff

Plants

Aus der Serie „Indian White

Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
140 x 120 cm
Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2020/21
120 x 100 cm
Gouache auf Papier
verso signiert und datiert 2020
29,5 x 20,8 cm

Aus der Serie „Wiesenstücke“

aus der Serie „Florales“

aus der Serie „Florales“

Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2019
150 x 110 cm
Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2022
90 x 80 cm
Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2022
120 x 100 cm

Im Schilff

Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2021
140 x 120 cm

Plants

Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2020/21
120 x 100 cm

Aus der Serie „Indian White

Gouache auf Papier
verso signiert und datiert 2020
29,5 x 20,8 cm

Aus der Serie „Wiesenstücke“

Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert und datiert 2019
150 x 110 cm

aus der Serie „Florales“

Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2022
90 x 80 cm

aus der Serie „Florales“

Acryl / Gouache auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2022
120 x 100 cm

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und seien Sie immer informiert über unser neuestes Galerieprogramm.