cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Drago Julius Prelog

Celje 1939 – 2020 Vienna
Born in 1939 in Celje, Slovenia, as Karl Julius Prelog, the artist moved with his family in 1944 to Upper Styria, Austria. He attended the University of Applied Arts in Graz (Decorative Painting faculty) and in 1958 adopted the name Drago in a nod to his South Slavic roots. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna for seven semesters, from 1958 to 1962, during which time he was taught by Professor Albert Paris Gütersloh, but deliberately chose to end his studies without receiving a diploma. 1959 marked the beginning of his exhibition career, over the course of which his work has been displayed in hundreds of solo and group exhibitions both in Austria and abroad. From 1969 to 1979 he taught painting, and from 1974 to 1997 lettering and typeface design, at the Academy of Fine Arts.

Drago Julius Prelog didn’t draw symbols; he created them. His work is characterized by the relationship between the narrative centre and edges of his paintings, as well as ritual elements and a pronounced pictographic visual concept. In his early works (1959), bundles formed of lines unravel themselves from the centre of the canvas towards its edges. In the typographical works that followed, the image was spread across the entire canvas, the focal points in its composition now replaced by structure and rhythm. In his “Skin and Bark Pictures”, crusts of paint jut out towards the viewer. Between these lie series of works such as the “Mountain, St Stephen’s and Profile Pictures”, which are not in any way to be viewed as conventional portraits, but as pictograms. Prelog’s years-long engagement with lettering, necessitated by his teaching, eventually led him to develop the “personal alphabet” as a pictorial subject.
The artist himself described the birth of his famous circulation paintings as follows: “On 18 May 1977 I arrived at my studio with an empty mind. In the middle of the room was a large wooden board, propped on two flexible blocks, with a large piece of white paper on top. With a pen in each hand, I started casually swinging my arms to make abstract lines at the bottom of the paper – next to each other, on top of one another, through one another. My ecstasy growing, I moved back and forth, eventually coming to the right-hand edge of the paper. I spontaneously continued drawing from the right side to the upper edge, and suddenly realized that none of the four sides was preferable. All four were objectively equal! And so I continued working on the top edge and moved down through the fourth corner to the side on which I had begun. In the middle, there was an area that was magically empty and white. That was the birth of my circulation pictures. I immediately saw that these works could be seen as pictorial traces, as the result of ritualized actions.” These circulation paintings are an expression of Prelog’s empathetic sensitivity and, at the same time, his constant striving to unite freedom and order.

Triptych A

Orderly Conditions

Untitled

Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2015, verso inscribed
90 x 110 cm
Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2016
90 x 115 cm
Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2015, verso inscribed
90 x 110 cm

O-Meditation

Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2013, verso inscribed
50 x 65 cm

Triptych A

Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2015, verso inscribed
90 x 110 cm

Orderly Conditions

Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2016
90 x 115 cm

Untitled

Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2015, verso inscribed
90 x 110 cm

O-Meditation

Acrylic on canvas
signed and dated 2013, verso inscribed
50 x 65 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Drago Julius Prelog

Celje 1939 – 2020 Wien
Der Künstler wurde 1939 in Celje (Slowenien) als Karl Julius Prelog geboren und übersiedelte 1944 mit seiner Familie in die Obersteiermark. Er besuchte die Kunstgewerbeschule in Graz (Abteilung Dekorative Malerei) und nahm 1958 den Namen „Drago“ an, um auf seine südslawische Herkunft hinzuweisen. Von 1958 bis 1962 absolvierte er sieben Semester an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien bei Professor Albert Paris Gütersloh, strebte aber bewusst kein Diplom an. Das Jahr 1959 markiert den Beginn seiner Ausstellungstätigkeit. Seitdem kann Prelog auf viele hundert Einzelpräsentationen und Ausstellungsbeteiligungen im In- und Ausland verweisen. Von 1969 bis 1979 hatte der Künstler einen Lehrauftrag für Malerei, 1974 bis 1997 für Schrift- und Schriftgestaltung an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien inne.

Drago Julius Prelog bildete nicht ab, sondern setzte Zeichen. Das Verhältnis von Bildgeschehen zu Bildrand sowie rituelle Elemente und eine ausgeprägt piktografische Bildauffassung bestimmen das Werk des Künstlers. In seinen frühen Arbeiten (1959) strebten Linienknäuel, sich auflösend, programmatisch vom Zentrum zum Bildrand. In den danach folgenden skripturalen Arbeiten breitete sich das Bildgeschehen über die gesamte Fläche aus, etwaige Kompositionsschwerpunkte wurden durch Struktur und Rhythmik ersetzt. In den „Haut- und Rindenbildern“ ragen die Farbkrusten dem Betrachter entgegen. Dazwischen liegende Werkabschnitte wie etwa die „Berg-, Steffl- und Profilbilder“ sind keineswegs als konventionelle Abbilder, sondern als Piktogramme zu verstehen. Die langjährige, durch Lehrtätigkeit bedingte Auseinandersetzung mit der Materie Schrift führte schließlich zur Entwicklung des „Persönlichen Alphabets“ als Bildthema.
Die Geburtsstunde seiner berühmten Umlaufbilder beschrieb der Künstler selbst mit folgenden Worten: „Am 18. Mai 1977 kam ich mit leerem Kopf in mein Atelier. In der Mitte des Raumes lag auf zwei flexiblen Blöcken eine große Holzplatte und auf dieser ein großes, weißes Blatt Papier. In beiden Händen je einen Stift, begann ich mit lässig schlenkernden Armen am unteren Bildrand abstrakte Liniengefüge aufzubauen – nebeneinander, übereinander, durcheinander. Zunehmend ekstatisch bewegte ich mich hin und her und gelangt dabei zur rechten Blattecke. Spontan setzte ich meine Zeichentätigkeit am rechten Bildrand zur Oberseite hin fort und stellte plötzlich fest, dass keine der vier Bildseiten zu bevorzugen sei. Alle vier Bildseiten sind objektiv gleichwertig! So setzte ich meine Arbeit am oberen Bildrand fort und kam von der dritten über die vierte Ecke des Blattes zur Startseite zurück. In der Bildmitte blieb eine magische weiße Fläche frei. Das war die Geburt meiner Umlaufbilder. Sofort wurde mir klar, dass man diese Bilder als Spurenbilder, als Resultat ritualisierten Handelns verstehen muss.“ Diese Umlaufbilder sind Ausdruck des sensiblen Einfühlungsvermögens des Künstlers und gleichzeitig seines konstanten Bemühens, Freiheit mit Ordnung zu verbinden.

Ohne Titel

O-Meditation

Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 2015, verso bezeichnet
90 x 110 cm
Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 2013, verso bezeichnet
50 x 65 cm

Ohne Titel

Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 2015, verso bezeichnet
90 x 110 cm

O-Meditation

Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert und datiert 2013, verso bezeichnet
50 x 65 cm