cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Anton Kitzmüller

born 1966, Linz
Anton Kitzmüller embarked on his art education in 1984 with private tuition from Fritz Feichtinger, whose work engaged intensively with nature studies. From 1985 to 1986 Kitzmüller attended the University of Art and Design in Linz, where he focused particularly on nude studies in his painting masterclasses. During this period he was in contact with many key figures of the Linz art scene, such as Ludwig Schwarzer, Franz Xaver Ecker, Erich Ruprecht, Josef Fischnaller and Fritz Aigner.

In 1986, he received an invitation from Ernst Fuchs to visit him in his villa in Vienna; Karl Korab also invited him to his studio in the Waldviertel region. The same year, Kitzmüller received a place in Wolfgang Hutter’s painting and graphic art masterclass at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. As a student, he visited several European countries before travelling to England, where figurative art was becoming increasingly established thanks to Lucien Freud – a contrast to the abstract works that dominated Austrian art in the 1980s. In London, the young artist met British painter Stephen Taylor and spent a few months working with him in his London studio. In 1989 he returned to Vienna, where Wolfgang Hutter enabled him to graduate early with a diploma from the University of Applied Arts. Kitzmüller established a studio on his grandfather’s estate in Upper Austria, which would become the platform for his creative practice for many years.
Until the early 1990s, Kitzmüller focused primarily on the Old Masters; he found their techniques fascinating and deployed them in the creation of his own works. As he matured as an artist, his own technique of applying numerous layers of paint with translucent glaze in between became a prominent feature of his works. This oil-mixing technique has remained a constant in the composition of his works throughout all his creative periods, even if his interests have more recently come to focus on Expressionist and Impressionist means of form and expression.

Two decades of actively exhibiting his work in museums, galleries and art fairs, as well as the accompanying reviews in daily newspapers, art journals and television programmes, are a clear indication of the increasing attention being paid to Kitzmüller’s work. His paintings have been exhibited in countries including Austria, Germany, the Netherlands, France, Great Britain, Belgium, Poland, Italy, Switzerland and the USA and have won numerous prizes. They can be found in the collections of Rudolf Leopold (Leopold Museum, Vienna) and Leonie von Rüxleben (Lübeck Art Museum). In 2008, the Cologne-based film studio September Film produced Das Maß der Dinge [The Shape of Things], a comprehensive film portrait of Anton Kitzmüller.

View of the Bäckerstrasse

The Dancer

Seascape

Oil / acrylic on canvas
monogrammed, verso signed, 2018/2019
100 x 100 cm
Oil / acrylic on canvas
signed, 2020
80 x 80 cm
Oil on canvas
verso signed, 2021
100 x 100 cm

Water and Light

Sea Scent

Oil on canvas
verso signed, 2022
80 x 80 cm
Oil / acrylic on canvas
signed, 2021
80 x 80 cm

View of the Bäckerstrasse

Oil / acrylic on canvas
monogrammed, verso signed, 2018/2019
100 x 100 cm

The Dancer

Oil / acrylic on canvas
signed, 2020
80 x 80 cm

Seascape

Oil on canvas
verso signed, 2021
100 x 100 cm

Water and Light

Oil on canvas
verso signed, 2022
80 x 80 cm

Sea Scent

Oil / acrylic on canvas
signed, 2021
80 x 80 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Anton Kitzmüller

geboren 1966, Linz
Anton Kitzmüller begann seine künstlerische Ausbildung 1984 mit Privatunterricht bei Fritz Feichtinger, der von intensiver Beschäftigung mit Naturstudien geprägt war. Von 1985 bis 1986 besuchte Kitzmüller die Universität für künstlerische und industrielle Gestaltung in Linz und beschäftigte sich hier in der Meisterklasse für Malerei vorwiegend mit dem Aktstudium. In dieser Zeit stand er in Verbindung mit zahlreichen Linzer Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie Ludwig Schwarzer, Franz Xaver Ecker, Erich Ruprecht, Josef Fischnaller und Fritz Aigner.

1986 wurde er von Ernst Fuchs in dessen Villa nach Wien eingeladen, ebenso von Karl Korab in dessen Atelier ins Waldviertel. Noch im selben Jahr folgte die Aufnahme an die Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien in die Meisterklasse für Malerei und Grafik von Wolfgang Hutter. Bereits während seines Studiums bereiste Kitzmüller zahlreiche Länder Europas. Da in den 1980er Jahren die abstrakte Kunst in Österreich vorherrschte, sich dagegen aber in England mit Lucien Freud die gegenständliche Malerei zu etablieren begann, reiste der junge Künstler nach London. Dort lernte er den britischen Maler Stephen Taylor kennen und arbeitete für einige Monate mit diesem gemeinsam in dessen Londoner Atelier. 1989 kehrte er nach Wien zurück, wo Wolfgang Hutter ihm einen frühzeitigen Diplomabschluss an der Universität für angewandte Kunst ermöglichte. Auf dem Anwesen seines Großvaters in Oberösterreich errichtete er nun ein Atelier, das für viele Jahre zur schöpferischen Plattform seiner freischaffenden künstlerischen Tätigkeit wurde.
Bis zum Beginn der 1990er Jahre beschäftigte sich Kitzmüller vorrangig mit Alten Meistern, deren Technik den Künstler faszinierte und die er fortan für seine Motive zur Anwendung brachte. Die in sehr vielen Schichten, mit zahlreichen Zwischenlasuren aufgesetzte Farbe wurde im weiteren Verlauf künstlerischer Reifung zum herausragenden Merkmal seiner Arbeiten. Diese Ölmischtechnik blieb vom Aufbau her in allen Schaffensperioden konstant, auch wenn Kitzmüllers Interesse sich in jüngster Zeit zunehmend expressiven wie impressionistischen Ausdrucks- und Formmitteln zuwandte.

Die rege Ausstellungstätigkeit zweier Jahrzehnte in Museen, Galerien und auf Kunstmessen sowie die darauf Bezug nehmenden Rezensionen in Tageszeitungen, Kunstzeitschriften und dem Fernsehen dokumentieren auf eindrucksvolle Weise, welch steigende Anerkennung das Werk des Künstlers erfährt. Kitzmüllers Gemälde wurden u.a. in Österreich, Deutschland, den Niederlanden, Frankreich, England, Belgien, Polen, Italien, der Schweiz und den USA gezeigt und mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Sie sind Bestandteil der Sammlung Rudolf Leopold (Leopold Museum Wien) sowie der Sammlung Leonie von Rüxleben (Kunstmuseum Lübeck). Darüber hinaus drehte das Filmstudio September-Film Köln im Jahr 2008 „Das Maß der Dinge“, ein umfangreiches Filmportrait über Anton Kitzmüller.

Blick in die Bäckerstrasse

Die Tänzerin

Seestück

Öl / Acryl auf Leinwand
monogrammiert, verso signiert, 2018/2019
100 x 100 cm
Öl / Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert, 2020
80 x 80 cm
Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, 2021
100 x 100 cm

Wasser und Licht

Meeresduft

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, 2022
80 x 80 cm
Öl / Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert, 2021
80 x 80 cm

Blick in die Bäckerstrasse

Öl / Acryl auf Leinwand
monogrammiert, verso signiert, 2018/2019
100 x 100 cm

Die Tänzerin

Öl / Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert, 2020
80 x 80 cm

Seestück

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, 2021
100 x 100 cm

Wasser und Licht

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, 2022
80 x 80 cm

Meeresduft

Öl / Acryl auf Leinwand
signiert, 2021
80 x 80 cm

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und seien Sie immer informiert über unser neuestes Galerieprogramm.