cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Adrian Szaal

born 1986, Vienna
For more than 15 years, Adrian Szaal has been an extremely versatile artist, working with a diverse range of materials. He specializes in black light painting in acrylics, for which he uses fluorescent colours in his self-developed “free colour” technique – a particular method of structural pour painting, which he conceived and perfected over many years of creative practice. In the artist’s words: “Nothing is as it appears; everything can change in just a matter of seconds.”

Adrian Szaal’s approach is very experimental. Studying his work reveals a successful symbiosis of abstract and figural art. His paintings stand out for their expressive, gestural application of paint and eye-catching compositions. “Looking at a white canvas, I can already see the finished picture in my mind’s eye – I visualize it and use pour painting to bring it to the canvas in the way I imagine.” Paintings that may appear abstract at first glance often reveal figural aspects on closer inspection.

Szaal mainly works with acrylic paints on different bases, employing various techniques such as “topic”, “slides” (a special trowel technique that concentrates on dynamics, momentum and expression) and “MMP” (mixed material paintings). In his project “Light Painting”, pictures are painted with light and then captured on Polaroid and backlight film, with the resulting photos left unedited. This linking of photography and painting creates a sense of tension and singularity.

“Even if Szaal’s expressive gestures may sometimes make an association with Art Informel seem more than plausible, closer inspection reveals that his work never completely abandons the figural sphere. Using different bases and tools, chiefly with his self-developed “free colour” technique, and working mainly in acrylics, the artist plays with the specifics of painting and photography as a medium. In this conceptually led process, which pushes the boundaries of both physical and psychological possibility as well as our perceptive abilities, and influences all levels of his work, the medium of light is given a pivotal role: the experience and experiencability of his works change with the situation, as it were, with the act of our viewing them, by dint of the interplay of principles and effects in colour blends that may add or subtract.” (Catrin M. Hassa)

Adrian Szaal was born in Vienna in 1986 and has been a freelance artist since 2004. Following a two-year atelier course, he graduated from Professor Christian Ludwig Attersee’s painting masterclass. He now lives and works in Lower Austria, and has been invited to attend national and international art symposiums. His works have been exhibited in galleries including the Startgalerie in Leoben, the River Gallery in Bratislava, the exhibition “den Blick öffnen” (“opening the gaze”), and several international art fairs held in Vienna’s Künstlerhaus, Palais Ferstel and Palais Niederösterreich. In 2014 and 2015 his works were displayed at Inter Art Berlin, and he had a solo exhibition at Laxenburg Palace every year from 2014 to 2019. He has also taken part in numerous group exhibitions, including at Perchtoldsdorf Palace and other cultural institutions in Lower Austria. For several years, Adrian Szaal also created the “Garden of Dreams”, a special outdoor exhibition that formed part of the WIKAM art fair. Using his own sculptures, statues by other artists, and a specially designed light and music installation, he created a unique experience for all the senses. “T-Man in Action” was the title of the 2019 performance in which Szaal captivated his audience at Fair for Art Vienna with a story narrated through music, painting and light.

The Treasure Hunt

The Treasure Hunt - UV

Fight Club

Acrylic on canvas
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm
Acrylic on canvas
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm
Acrylic on canvas
Colour / UV, 2019
100 x 80 cm

Autumn Days

Acrylic on canvas
Real Colour / Start with my art, 2019
40 x 30 cm

The Treasure Hunt

Acrylic on canvas
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm

The Treasure Hunt - UV

Acrylic on canvas
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm

Fight Club

Acrylic on canvas
Colour / UV, 2019
100 x 80 cm

Autumn Days

Acrylic on canvas
Real Colour / Start with my art, 2019
40 x 30 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Adrian Szaal

geboren 1986, Wien
Adrian Szaal ist seit mehr als 15 Jahren ein sehr vielseitiger Künstler und arbeitet mit den unterschiedlichsten Materialien. Zu seinem Spezialgebiet zählt die Schwarzlichtmalerei in Acryl, die er mit fluoreszierenden Farben (UV) in der von ihm konzipierten „Free Colour“-Technik fertigt – einem speziellen Verfahren der strukturellen Farbschüttung, die er in jahrelangem Schaffen entwickelt und perfektioniert hat. Der Künstler: „Nichts ist so, wie es scheint, in Sekunden kann sich alles ändern.“

Der Weg, den Adrian Szaal geht, ist sehr experimentell. Wer sich mit dem Schaffen des Künstlers auseinandersetzt, erkennt dessen gelungene Symbiose zwischen Abstraktion und figuraler Kunst. Die Bilder bestechen durch gestisch expressiven Farbauftrag und prägnante Komposition. „Beim Blick auf die weiße Leinwand sehe ich bereits das fertige Bild vor mir – ich visualisiere es und bringe es durch Farbschüttung, meiner Vorstellung entsprechend, auf die Leinwand.“ So kann bei den auf den ersten Blick abstrakten Gemälden nach längerem Betrachten oftmals Figurales entdeckt werden.

Der Künstler arbeitet hauptsächlich mit Acrylfarben auf verschiedenen Bildträgern und in unterschiedlichen Techniken wie „Topic“, „Slides“ (eine spezielle Spachteltechnik, bei der Dynamik, Schwung und Ausdruck im Vordergrund stehen) und „MMP“ (mixed material paintings). Bei seinem Projekt „Light Painting“ wiederum werden Bilder mit Licht gemalt und anschließend auf Polaroid und Backlight Film festgehalten, wobei die entstandenen Fotos nicht verändert werden. Spannung und Einzigartigkeit entstehen hier durch die Verbindung von Fotografie und Malerei.
„Auch wenn Szaals expressiver Gestus Assoziationen zur art informel zuweilen durchaus plausibel erscheinen lassen mag, offenbart sich bei näherer Betrachtung, dass sein Werk die Sphäre des Figuralen nie gänzlich verlässt. Auf verschiedenen Bildträgern, unter Einsatz diverser Malwerkzeuge, meist in der von ihm selbst konzipierten „Free-Colour“-Technik, hauptsächlich in Acryl, spielt der Künstler mit den Spezifika der Medien Malerei und Fotografie. Die Schlüsselrolle wird in diesem konzeptuell gesteuerten Prozess des Ausreizens der physikalischen und psychologischen Möglichkeiten und Grenzen des visuellen Wahrnehmungsapparates, der alle Werkebenen bestimmt, dem Medium Licht zuteil: die Erfahrung und Erfahrbarkeit der Werke aktualisieren sich sozusagen im Akt des Betrachtens situativ, Kraft der Wechselwirkung der Prinzipien und Effekte der additiven und subtraktiven Farbmischung.“ (Catrin M. Hassa)

Adrian Szaal wurde 1986 in Wien geboren und ist seit 2004 als freischaffender Künstler tätig. Nach einem zweijährigen Atelierstudium absolvierte er die Meisterklasse für Malerei bei Prof. Christian Ludwig Attersee. Der Künstler, der bereits zu nationalen wie auch internationalen Kunstsymposien geladen wurde, lebt und arbeitet in Niederösterreich. Werke von ihm wurden u.a. in der Startgalerie Leoben, River Galerie Bratislava, bei der Ausstellungsreihe „den Blick öffnen“ und mehrmals auf internationalen Kunstmessen im Wiener Künstlerhaus, im Palais Ferstel und Palais Niederösterreich präsentiert. Der Künstler war 2014 und 2015 auf der Inter Art Berlin sowie jährlich von 2014 bis 2019 mit Einzelausstellungen im Schloss Laxenburg vertreten. Auch war er an zahlreichen Gruppenausstellungen wie in der Burg Perchtoldsdorf und weiteren Kulturzentren in Niederösterreich beteiligt. Einige Jahre lange gestaltete Adrian Szaal auch den „Garden of Dreams“, eine Outdoor Sonderausstellung im Rahmen der Wikam. Hier schuf er mit eigenen Skulpturen und Plastiken anderer zeitgenössischer Künstler sowie einer eigens konzipierten Licht- und Musikinstallation ein einzigartiges Gefühlserlebnis für alle Sinne. „T-Man in Action“ war der Titel seiner Performance, bei der Szaal das Publikum der Fair for Art Vienna 2019 mit einer mit Musik, Licht und Malerei dargestellten Geschichte begeistert hat.

Die Schatzsuche

Die Schatzsuche - UV

Fight Club

Acryl auf Leinwand
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm
Acryl auf Leinwand
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm
Acryl auf Leinwand
Topic / UV, 2019
100 x 80 cm

Herbsttage

Acryl auf Leinwand
Real Colour / Start with my art, 2019
40 x 30 cm

Die Schatzsuche

Acryl auf Leinwand
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm

Die Schatzsuche - UV

Acryl auf Leinwand
Real Colour / UV, Topic, 2020
140 x 110 cm

Fight Club

Acryl auf Leinwand
Topic / UV, 2019
100 x 80 cm

Herbsttage

Acryl auf Leinwand
Real Colour / Start with my art, 2019
40 x 30 cm