cropped-logo-2

Gallery Szaal

Martin Schnur

born 1964, Vorau
From 1982 to 1985, Martin Schnur attended the University of Applied Arts in Graz, from which he moved on to Joannis Avramidis’ sculpture masterclass at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. His paintings have been exhibited in galleries including the Museum der Moderne Rupertinum in Graz and the Essl Collection.

An essential part of Schnur’s work is how it both includes and links up different planes of space and reality, among whose mysterious idiosyncrasies the viewer is invited to find their own interpretation. Exterior spaces collide with interior ones; rooms are nested within or crash into one another in marked contrast, linked by a figure or an element of the natural world so that the image becomes a whole, coherent composition. Landscapes play a particularly important role, in the form of fragmented sections of woodland, meadow or pond, as well as urban interiors with staged figures. Schnur places people into his scenes like a film director, relishing light reflexes.
As much as Schnur’s work is about painting itself, about colour, form and composition, about the Old Masters’ techniques and the interplay of light and shadow, he still steers clear of unambiguous narrative. His paintings play bewilderingly with reality and dreams, with appearance and actuality, stirring the viewer’s imagination. A visual magician, he creates a sensuous, soulful kind of painting, enigmas the viewer is asked to solve for themselves.

“His works live from the polarity of two different pictures on the same canvas, which tell a shared or divergent story and thus create a particular dynamic. His subjects – mainly people and landscapes – transport their message less through mimesis than through moods or feelings.” (Simon Baur)

Double Reflection

Slightly Displaced

On Reflection

Oil on copper
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
80 x 70 cm
Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2021
180 x 120 cm
Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
80 x 120 cm

Double Reflection

Oil on copper
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
80 x 70 cm

Slightly Displaced

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2021
180 x 120 cm

On Reflection

Oil on canvas
verso signed, inscribed and dated 2022
80 x 120 cm

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and be always informed about our latest gallery program.

cropped-logo-2

Galerie Szaal

Martin Schnur

geboren 1964, Vorau
Martin Schnur besuchte von 1982 bis 1985 die Kunstgewerbeschule Graz und im Anschluss daran von 1985 bis 1990 die Meisterklasse für Bildhauerei bei Joannis Avramidis an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien. Seine Gemälde waren u.a. im Museum der Moderne Rupertinum in Salzburg sowie in der Sammlung Essl zu sehen.

Wesentlich an Schnurs Werk ist die Ein- und Verbindung von unterschiedlichen Raum- und Realitätsebenen, in deren rätselhafte Eigentümlichkeit der Betrachter seine Interpretation imaginieren soll. Außen- stößt auf Innenraum, Räume werden verschachtelt, prallen kontrastreich aufeinander und werden durch eine Figur oder ein Element aus der Natur so miteinander verbunden, dass durch deren Gesamtschau eine stimmige Komposition entsteht. Hierbei spielen Landschaften in Form fragmentarisch zitierter Wald-, Wiesen- oder Teichgebiete sowie urbane Innenräume mit inszenierten Modellen eine große Rolle. Dabei setzt Schnur Personen wie ein Regisseur in Szene und kostet Lichtreflexe genüsslich aus.
So sehr es Schnur um das Malen an sich, um Farbe, Form und Komposition, um altmeisterliche Technik und Licht- und Schattenspiele geht, so verweigert der Künstler doch die eindeutige Narration. Seine Bildkompositionen sind irritierende Spiele mit Wirklichkeit und Traum, mit Sein und Schein, die die Imagination des Betrachters in besonderem Maße anregen. Als Bildmagier schafft er eine sinnliche, seelenvolle Malerei, deren Rätsel jeder selber lösen darf.

„Die Arbeiten leben von einer Polarität zweier unterschiedlicher Bilder auf demselben Malgrund, die eine gemeinsame oder divergierende Geschichte erzählen, was zu einer besonderen Dynamik führt. Die Motive, vorwiegend Menschen und Landschaften, transportieren ihren Gehalt weniger über die Mimesis denn über eine Stimmung oder ein Gefühl.“ Simon Baur

Double Reflection

Leicht versetzt

Öl auf Kupfer
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2022
80 x 70 cm
Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2021
180 x 120 cm

Double Reflection

Öl auf Kupfer
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2022
80 x 70 cm

Leicht versetzt

Öl auf Leinwand
verso signiert, bezeichnet und datiert 2021
180 x 120 cm